MR KNOW IT ALL?

I got too let some steam out.Don Alessi has written some great articles for this site,spacifically “meltdown training”,where there seems to be some contraversy whether Don should have given credit to poliquin for teaching him everything he knows.First,as a strength coach i also consider myself a researcher,always looking for that extra edge that will help me and my clients.In my personal library which spans about 150 000 pages in books, abstracts and personal communications with other coaches,i dont think any strength coach from this era has really invented some new technique or program thas hasnt been tried atleast some 20 years back.Ive been to the boot camps,the bodyrecomposition seminars and scientific conferences,only to lose all this money and say “holy shit,i already knew that”.So to all the strength coaches that think we owe them some favour for some info that can easily be found,you all owe us a favour for actually coming to these overpriced seminars,buying these overpriced books and videos.BTW,can anyone tell me if they have been 100%satisfied after shelling out all that money on these seminars,just curious.

wstrainer. It’s interesting that you brought this up. On more than one occasion, I’ve asked Chris Shugart to interview somebody that was “ripped and natural” and may have something to offer the Forum. His reply was often “yea…great bod…but I doubt anything new to offer”. I FINALLY GET IT!! People may offer a few “twist”, and some may bring in tid bits of research to support their position here and there…but you (and Chris) are right; there is often nothing really new.

I STILL fall into this trap with books! Out comes some “new” workout or program; or “Workout Bible” and I end up saying the same thing you and Chris do after I buy it…nothing new (I’m getting better, though!)