T Nation

Moving Away From Family

So I’ve just recently been thinking about my future (im about to turn 20) and if I want to move away from my home, where I’ve lived within 40 miles of the same place my whole life. And honestly, im torn. I don’t love this place, I want to get out, see the world, live on the coast, get away from this freaking wind.

But what stops me is I’ve done a lot of thinking and realized that family is really all you have in life, and if I move from here I’ll rarely see my family.

Im not particularly close to my family, and as is right now since im in college I only see my dad/brother once a month or so until summer, and my sister once a year since shes overseas. But still, I know if I ever needed them they’re just an hour away.

I guess I wanted to ask how many of you moved far away from your parents? Why? Do you regret it? If it wasn’t for my Dad, I would move to the coast the second I graduated college. We might not be really close, but he gave up a lot for me. Just the thought of moving far away is hard.

Move. You can still return to see your family a few times a year. You will appreciate the time spent with them when you do visit and you will grow as a person as you go along on your travels.

Uncle Bird.

tweet

Move. Live life outside of the little box you live in. Sometimes it may be hard, but luckily with the way life is now and technology and travel it’s really not hard to still maintain your relationship with your family while living far away. I think if anything, my relationship improved when I moved away.

You’ve heard of these things called phones? Ring your mum and dad once a week, its considered good manners and marks you out as a considerate son.

So move to the coast, its not F’ing Mars.

I’m willing to bet it is more about a fear of change than missing your family. Don’t be scurred.