Move to Houston for a Job?

For a little background, I am in my final year of an engineering degree and I have recently been given a very very good post graduation offer in my field. I have grown up in Chicago, go to college close to the city and in general have loved my time here. I only recently visited Houston for one day while interviewing, have never before this interview been to Texas and have no family or friends down there. Also for clarification, while I would try to live in a Houston suburb, my workplace would be about 1.2 hours outside of the city.

Now, I am not opposed to moving somewhere, as I figured that I would have to in order to pursue my degree field, but I am not sold on Texas. It just seems like a very different world from what I am used to, and while some things are appealing, I am still on the fence. I do freely admit that I need more information on the area to make a better decision.

So since there are a number of people from Houston or the general area on this site, I am looking for a list of pros and cons for moving there. If possible, I would also love to hear from others who grew up in a large northern city and how that transition was. Keep in mind that I am only 23, I enjoy city life, going out, younger crowds, etc. Thanks.

Dont come here. :slight_smile:

Just joking I will not bring up our discussion in the other thread.

I will let others give you the pros and cons and add when I have time. Congrats with graduation and good luck.

Pros and cons: look at this economy, you have a job offer in one of the few states that has done well lately and is ranked at the top of places to move for work.

1.2 hours outside the city. Where exactly?

Pros, cheap everything from what I have seen. My cousin moved down there and paid off his student loans by accident. Nice people, overall great place. (I do business there all the time)