T Nation

Motivation and the T-Community

Note to anyone who doesn’t want to read quite a bit, this may be long, it’s just a jumble of things I want to say.

I am currently 17 and a HS Senior. I started lifting during the summer between my freshman and soph years. I started then at 6’1" 135lbs looking like a twig with a bit of a gut. I’ve made it up to 165lbs still at 6’1" sans gut. My first really serious incursion into heavy lifting was last year when I signed up for the weights class my school was offering. With some excellent equipment and a great coach I was able to make some really big gains for the first time in my life. (20 lbs to bench, 30 to squat, 20 to DL in one semester.)

Every day I would come out beaten, fatigued, and feeling like a king. This summer I have been lifting heavy and plan to take two semesters worth of the class again once school starts back up. I have been eating big and clean and I feel better than ever. Lifting has totally changed my life and I now can say I found something I genuinely love and will keep doing till I die. Part of what keeps me going is the negative opinions of others and how it drives me to prove their misconceptions wrong.

[rant]
I have showed the Nubret picture here to several friends and many have said that difficult to reach that kind of physique and while I don’t know if I can ever look that good, I can damn well try. The crux of motivational criticism that I recieved was earlier today from my own mother, who normally is a great support of my various endeavors. Upon showing her that particular picture and recieved a rather shocking negative response including such statements as “Impossible” and “disgusting” along with “no one likes that kind of body.”