T Nation

Motivated to Stick With It

hey everyone,

im a beginner at lifting weights, im only 17,im trying to get decent size arms and what everyone wants the six pack abs.im about 5"7 and right now im at 126 pounds for some reason i started losing weight i was at 133 but i dont know what happend.

i was working out there for a little while but i had no motivation to keep me going to i quit working out. but now i want to get going again and not quit, ill do anything to get the body that i want so plz someone help me!

-Richard

Your diet is THE KEY to get what you want! The diet is way more important than your training. Without a proper diet, you will get NOWHERE even with proper training. So get a proper, healthy diet and bulk. 5"7 and 126 lbs is really thin, so just bulk moderately with 3000 calories a day. Count calories, and macro-nutrients.

If you don’t gain around 3 lbs (you’re a beginner) a week (/edited) you aren’t eating enough calories a day. And if you are getting to fat (altrhough a little fat will always come, when gaining weight) you are eating to much. This is why it is important to count calories. I do it in a smart Excel-program designed for it, where I just select a type of food from a huge list and enter the amount of grams, and it automatically writes the macronutrients and keep track of all days food etc (but it is in Danish, not English)

And for training, don’t do any splits or super-sets or other mambo-jambo while you’re still a beginner. Keep it simple. Do a fullbody-workout 3 days a week with focus on not only your “beach-muscles” but also your legs and back!

A program could look like this:

Squat
Deadlift
Bench Press
Bent-over Rows
Military Press
Chin-ups