T Nation

Most Important Supps...

Hey guys, I am starting to lift again this summer with the intent to make lean gains. My diet is clean now and since I am a poor ass student I was wondering what supps are the most necessary for what I am looking to achieve since I am on a tight budget. In my mind it would go like:

Most important - post-workout supp

Second most important - weight gainer

Next - BCAA’s

Last - general protein or fish oil

What are your guys thoughts on this?

Protein is the most important. You could make lean gains without any supps as long as you are eating above your maintenance calorie level. Good luck!

If I could only take 1 supp, it would be fish oil.

Of the things you mentioned, weight gainer strikes me as being REALLY unimportant.

Whey, creatine, fish oil.

I would say Fish Oil is the most important because its the hardest to get sufficient amounts of from your diet. So supplementing it for all the many health/body comp benefits is important.

Protein and all of the amino acids can be easily achieved through diet. Thats not to say protein/amino supplements aren’t very convienent.

Wow, I am pretty surprised by your guys’ thoughts. I would have guaranteed everyone would say a good post-workout since so much is written on T-Nation about the importance of peri-workout nutrition and how if you have that right you could fuck up everything else and still make some gains.

My thinking is I am only 20 so fish oil can wait until I am out of school. I am looking to add mass so in that case Surge and BCAAs are most important ya?

It all depends on what you’re currently lacking in your diet, so it’s next to impossible for anyone to tell you the best products for you to use without knowing what you’re already putting in your body.

I’m sure you’ll get some good feedback if you tell us what you daily intake looks like.

[quote]MMAniac wrote: