Most Effective Means for Conditioning?

What has everyone found is the most effective means for conditioning? I viewed Pat Flynn RKC’s last blog post and it has spiked my interest for metabolic conditioning. He seems quite knowlegeable in his latest blog post with incorporating metabolic conditioning in a quest towards 6 pack abs.

What does everyone else think is the most effective form of conditioning?

Well, certainly not endless cardio, although when I trained for my trail marathon I did lose weight…just happened to all be muscle (ehhh). And for a while, I would have sided with the Crossfit training modality (put everything in a hopper, choose randomly, be mediocre at everything); until some strange and horrible things started happening to my body (don’t ask).

Definitely metcon gives you the most bang for your buck with some heavy lifting days thrown in. At least for me. I’ve been doing this exclusively now for about 4 months, and my strength and endurance have skyrocketed. My deadlift alone jumped from 245 to 275, which isn’t bad for a 145-lb girl and for someone who’s been lifting seriously since 2006.

And I love the metcon work with kettlebells. I used to subscribe to barbell complexes, but the kettlebells offer so much more flexibility and the ability to transfer much more easily between exercises. Just flows so much more smoothly, which means I can jump from exercise to exercise that much faster (with awesome form, of course!)

Those complexes in Pat’s videos are INSANE. Love them! But then again I’ve always been kind of a masochist.

Good topic!

And Pat–keep 'em coming! You put a whole lot of excellent information on that post. The market is so saturated with bad information, it’s awesome to see websites like this one and yours that actually have a lot of truth to them. Thanks!

[quote]bigmetalguy wrote: