Most Annoying Person in the Gym Award

Let me preface this by saying that I have been working out at a “healthclub” for the past six months. It’s a pretty nice place, pool, whirpools, saunas, cardio room, nautilus room, weight room. I’m there for the weight room (which has a power rack) and is fairly well appointed.

Okay, contestant #1 is about 60 years old, 150lbs overweight. I’ve never gotten too close to him but my guess is he smells like a dead sea turtle. Anyway, I’ve never seen this guy do anything but s-t-r-e-t-c-h. That’s fine, but he does it on the equipment in the weightroom! I had to tell this behemoth to get the hell off the power-rack the other day while I was trying to squat. He came up in the middle of a set and started stretching! Sheesh! This morning he was laying on the floor on his back with his leg up on the Smith machine. He’s lucky the hottie that likes to squat all the way down wasn’t trying to use it or I would have dropped a couple plates on his apparently inflexible ass.

Our second contestant is this balding barber looking guy that seems to be in the locker room getting dressed every time I go in there. That’s fine, but he starts the process naked, drying off - not with a towel - but the wall mounted hot air dryer thing. Now even that would be okay, but he seems to get off on being naked. He’ll stand there under the dryer for as long as it takes me to undress, shower, and come back. I get back and he’s got his shirt on, tie tied, hair combed, and he’s still buck naked from the waist down. I don’t know if I should laugh or kick his ass.

So who’s annoying in your gym?

One guy that really pissed me off was on his cell phone/PDA making calls DURING SETS! Obviously he wasn’t working hard, but it gave him a sense of satisfaction that he was able to negotiate that real estate business deal and do a set of hammer strength chest press at the same time. Talk about time management.