Morning vs. Afternoon Training

I am an 18 year old beginner, and I have trouble measuring the pros and the cons of training in the morning, or later in the day.

I have heard and felt that training in the evening could interfere with a proper night’s sleep, because the training stimulates awareness and other antagonists to sleep.
How ever, I find it much easier to push my body in the afternoon that within a couple hours after waking up. It’s like my body won’t go as far, or has a hard time getting going if it’s in the morning.

I also wonder if training in the morning isn’t bad for a good recovery, since the muscles will still be active throughout the day. Or maybe is that good because it gives extra stress to the muscles?

What interests me is mass gain, I am not worried about leanness for the moment.
I have naturally high endurance and adrenalin response.
I like to focus on chest and back. I do lots of push ups and pull ups.

What would you guys recommend concerning the time of the day for my training?

Thanks for any suggestions,

Chris

I might be wrong but I am pretty sure that training in the morning vs at night has very little affect on recovery. For me though, I simply have decided that I cannot train in the morning. Within the first 2 or 3 hours of waking up, I am significantly weaker and with any sort of cardio I just can’t recover. I would just go with what feels better

You should do barbell squat rack curls and lots of cardio machine work to get the best mass results. Don’t forget your NO XPLODE either, that’s a surefire way to get hyooooge PumPs!

While the morning is better hormonally (test and GH is higher in morning), the evening is better metabolically (after a days worth of nurtition, your glycogen stores should be at their fullest).

The truth of the matter is if you have the option, train at the time of day where you have the most energy and motivation. For that will result in the better gains.