More Belt Questions

Good afternoon, powerlifters.

I’m not a competitive powerlifter, just a big guy working on getting in better shape with lots of squats and deadlifts. I’ve been doing barbell work since September of 2013 and have never used a lifting belt. I’m beginning to get moderately strong, with my best lifts currently sitting at a 545 conventional DL and a 405x4 low-bar squat.

I’d like to hear the opinions of those who move lots of iron on a few specific questions. I should also mention that I am not experiencing any problems with my current style of beltless training. I am just looking for the opinions of those with more experience than I have.

1. Would continuing with beltless training pose any safety risks as I continue to move more iron? I have every intention of getting as strong as I can, and I don’t think it is unreasonable to assume that I’ll be slapping another set of plates on my big lifts in the next couple of years.

2. Could I expect a significant increase on my lifts if I were to begin using a belt?

3. Am I leaving any overall health benefit on the table by lifting beltless? Could I reasonably expect to get an overall better workout in with a belt?

4. Does beltless training at max effort sets offer any notable advantages for the non-competitive lifter?

5. Should I just buy a damn belt and see if I like it?

Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions.

[quote]twojarslave wrote:

1. Would continuing with beltless training pose any safety risks as I continue to move more iron? I have every intention of getting as strong as I can, and I don’t think it is unreasonable to assume that I’ll be slapping another set of plates on my big lifts in the next couple of years.[/quote]