T Nation

Money...For Dummies

Let’s talk about investing. I don’t have a flying clue who to even talk to to find out just basic information about investing. I am also not looking for hyper-technical jargon.

Are there any experts here?

I wouldn’t say I’m an expert Prof, but I have a property portfolio, a share portfolio and I trade options and shares for a living.

Glad to chip in - Did you have anything specific in mind?

[quote]Duke wrote:
I wouldn’t say I’m an expert Prof, but I have a property portfolio, a share portfolio and I trade options and shares for a living.

Glad to chip in - Did you have anything specific in mind?[/quote]

I don’t even know enough to know what questions to ask. I just want to not waste money.

A few thoughts:

1. I would not play the stock market unless you know a really good broker.

2. If you do decide to invest in stocks, don’t go for the “home run” or you will go broke. if you can make more than what bonds pay out (typically 4-5%), I would be very happy with that.

3. Commodities are even more volatile so stay away from that.

4. Although very popular, stay away from mutual funds! Here is a list of all the fees and expenses from Wikipedia: Management fees, Non-management expenses, 12b-1/Non-12b-1 service fees, Investor fees and expenses, Brokerage commissions.

5. GICs and Saving Bonds are among the safest investments you will find. They don’t pay out alot of money 4-5% but still alot more than what your bank is offering with a “Savings Account”. And with the way the U.S. economy has being doing lately (bad), a guaranteed 4-5% sounds pretty good.

Invest in GOLD, foreign currency, and Asian stocks. Stay away from the U.S. stock market, mutual funds, and anything dollar dominated in general. Our economy is about to crash spectacularly and the less you have invested in it, the better.

Do you want to be wealthy, if so, how wealthy and in what time frame?

I can list a bunch of general things to save money if you’d prefer?