Modified Westside. Opinions.

Alright, keeping this brief. I started lifting around a year ago. Did splits, ran 5/3/1 for a while, decided to get serious about powerlifting and did 5x5 for 8 weeks and want to try something different. My lifts went up but my deadlift stalled bad, and the squatting 3x a week did work on my hips. Decided to try westside, was reading an article by Jim Wendler and he talked about doing 3 week progressions on the ME lift. It goes like this:

1x5 50%
1x3 60%
1x2 70%
1x1 80%
1x5 85%

1x5 50%
1x3 60%
1x2 70%
1x1 80%
1x1 85%
1x3 90%

1x5 50%
1x3 60%
1x2 70%
1x1 80%
1x1 90%
1x1 95%
1x1 100%

You obviously keep the ME lift the same for all 3 weeks. Im worried that after doing squats for 3 weeks, im going to want to switch to deadlifts and im worried that my squat is going to suffer from not deadlifting for so long.

My lifts are 425/275/515 raw at 190 lbs

what are you doing on your other lower body day?

DE Squats

Do you have any other experience with the West Side template? Most variations you’ll see will tell you to not use regular deadlifts / regular squats for your ME movements.

I recently pulled a 30 pound PR (after a bunch of other shit too) despite not having pulled from the floor once in about 6 weeks. If you’re doing it right, don’t worry about losing strength on the other exercises.

I think in order to help you more, we’d really need to see the rest of the program. There’s more to it than just the ME days.

In my experience (and others) the deadlift is something you don’t need to do every week for it to go up. HOWEVER, I find that my squat definitely suffers if I’m not doing some sort of squat every week. This does not mean you need to keep squats in for your ME movement all the time.

There are 2 ways I usually get around this. Use squats/variations as your accessory movement on ME day when you do deadlifts. You can go heavyish, I never go under 5 reps if it’s just an accessory, and like to cycle in pause squats etc.