Modified Version of Brian Alsruhe’s Dark Horse

Hey everyone, long time lurker and first time poster. I’m starting this post to track the results of a modified version of Brian Alsruhe’s Dark Horse program. As far as what has led me to this point, I’ve been lifting seriously for 10-12 years now and experimented with a lot of different programs (to include following Alpha’s work on here several years ago) and found a niche in strongman for awhile which I love and did two competitions in but unfortunately I don’t have access to the implements for now anymore. The last year or so I’ve made tremendous progress with 5-3-1. I had to take a year off before that due to a left shoulder and right wrist injury and dropped from about 180ish to 160 lbs and felt miserable. Once I was ready to go back in the gym I decided to go in full force with diet, the program and also started up TRT. I managed to gain 40 lbs in 3 months and since then have maintained at about 200 lbs. I did manage to get up to 210 at one point but the cost and effort of the diet felt too much for the continual weight gain. I will post my diet then and now in a later post if anyone asks but this is mainly for me to track how this program works for me. With 5-3-1 I’ve managed to get to the following stats (I’m not big on taking videos of myself lifting but I also don’t want to appear to be a keyboard warrior so I will take videos and post them during the testing phase of this program):

Squat: 455
Deadlift: 485
Bench: 355
Push Press: 235

As far as the modification goes, I’m not doing the beginning conditioning part and with the Maximum Effort part I am solely focusing on working up to the 1,3 or 5 RM for the variation lift and then once I get to that section I am then going into the giant sets.

Wave 1 / Week 1 / Day 1

Maximum Effort

Work up to 3RM Box Squat (final: 425 lbs) I feel I could have gotten a little more but felt a bit of anxiety about the additional volume to come

Volume