T Nation

Modified Programming for Injury?

Hey everyone,

I have been running 5-3-1 for a few months and love it. Before I started the program I agitated a nerve and have been trying to fix it for some time now. The issue is being considered TOS or Thoracic outlet syndrome. It sounds like I need to strength some areas in my back and correct some over due posture issues. I am working on it but the issue I run into is OHP. Every time I try it it ends up in pain that night or for a few days.

My question is should I not OHP in the program or replace OHP day with different exercises to strengthen my shoulders and back?

Hi!
I’m a physio and see these issues quite a bit. Usually strength isn’t the issue, especially if you have been doing the 5-3-1 program. If your symptoms are aggravated with OHP I can assume you have some mobility issues with regards to shoulder flexion and/or thoracic spine. I can assume you are trying to improve t-spine extension by way of extension based mobility drills. Quite often t-spine rotation is not thought of and this in fact is the way the thoracic spine posture improves and functions. So perhaps target rotation of your t-spine. Secondly work on improving shoulder flexion. The lat dorsi is usually the culprit here. It’s a massive muscle and so strong, and given its anatomy it can be a key component in decreasing t-spine AND shoulder mobility (particularly flexion and external rotation - both needed for OHP)
Hope this helps. I cant give you specific exercises or mobility drills as everyone is completely different. But just some advice…clear t-spine rotation and shoulder extension and external rotation (by way of the lat dorsi)
Good luck. Following to see how you go!