Modified Bulgarian System/Am I Just Weak?

Hi, so I’ve been playing around with low and high frequency programs for a while now and I’ve been on this program Bulgarian Training Simplified for roughly 7 weeks total and two things have crossed my mind.

1. I’m definitely a novice lifter and although the program calls for variations of lifts throughout the week and then the competition lifts at the end of week… I feel like I’m not experienced (or strong) enough to validate the use of variations. Would I be better off just doing the basic lifts all week long for 12 weeks? In which case, I’m now testing rep maxes twice a week relatively close to each other. I’m not suffering from any pain, just minor discomfort here and there or as Broz describes it, “floating pain”.

2. I feel like I’m one of those people that high frequency works for really well and so I’d like to keep doing it… until it just stops working and although CT mentions a few times across his different works that different stimuli provides greater long term gains… every time I come off a strength program… and say do some bodybuilding work for 3-4 weeks… I come back weaker… and not just like… 5lbs here and there but sometimes like a solid 25lbs… am I not training correctly during that off time? I’d rather do some type of deload from Wendler’s 5/3/1 book and just make sure I’m doing my big 3 year around.

Hope everything was relatively clear to understand, I look forward to your responses. Thank you.

Obviously not CT but I’ve been playing around with high-frequency programs for most of my “career” (I’m a big fun of Broz) and made some observations.

1. I believe that using variations is crucial to correct weaknesses, break boredom and calm down the CNS.
    If your technique is between “no idea what I’m doing” and Malanichev, i.e. you’re proficient but not excellent you probably don’t need to spend more than a few training blocks per year working with 100% specificity to powerlifting.