T Nation

Mo Many Red Blood Cells

im new to this thread, and i know i am supposed to give you a history of myself,[testosterone and winstrol user] but i have to ask. has anyone ever had too many red blood cells, and a high HEMATOCRIT? mine is 60.7. also my platelet count is 60.7. does anyone know what could have caused this?

Freddy, there has been one notable thread on high hematocrit levels, and that was BBB's self-phlebotomy thread. I'm not suggesting you attempt that of course, but I mention it because it's not an unusual problem. AAS do enhance RBC concentrations.

Can you talk freely with your doctor about this?

yes i have and i did donate a pint of blood. but does it help? is there any thing else i can do? AAS do enhance RBC concentrations, any info on this. thanx

Here's a relevant article, I've bolded a couple of key statements.

You might want to do a search on Professional Muscle as well. "Maldorf" had a scary experience.

ed - For anyone interested in a potential explanation of the mechanics of the increased hematocrit levels, this abstract was actually posted their yesterday:

The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism Vol. 95, No. 10 4743-4747

Testosterone Suppresses Hepcidin in Men: A Potential Mechanism for Testosterone-Induced Erythrocytosis

Eric Bachman, Rui Feng1, Thomas Travison1, Michelle Li, Gordana Olbina, Vaughn Ostland, Jagadish Ulloor, Anqi Zhang, Shehzad Basaria, Tomas Ganz, Mark Westerman and Shalender Bhasin

Department of Medicine (E.C., T.T., S.Ba., S.Bh., M.L., J.U., A.Z.), Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Nutrition, Boston University School of Medicine, Boston, Massachusetts 02118; Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology (R.F.), University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104; Medicine and Pathology (T.G.), CHS 37-055, Department of Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine, Los Angeles, California 90095-1690; and Intrinsic LifeSciences LLC (M.W., G.O., V.O.), La Jolla, California 92037