T Nation

MMA Training

Hey guys just hoping to get some info on MMA. I am very interested into going into this, not hoping for UFC or anything, just would like to train and maybe fight in small venues. Anyways my main question is how old is too old to start? And is there any good gyms in alberta?

Depends what you mean by ‘get started’.

If you mean you have no experience in any grappling/striking sport it is probably already too late (unless you are really young). Most americans in the sport have been involved in amateur wrestling since since they were kids, and most non-americans have a traditional martial arts background dating back to childhood. There are some pretty glaring exceptions (Rich Franklin, Jeremy Horn and Evan Tanner are all self-taught and didn’t start until they were in their 20s), they are few and far between.

OTOH, if you have a background in any one facet of combat sports, there are plenty of guys who didn’t get started in MMA until their late 20s or early 30s. Randy Couture, Matt Hughes & Dan Henderson made the transition from amateur wrestling to MMA, Chuck Liddell made the transition from kickboxing to MMA, and George St. Pierre, David Louiseau made the transition from traditional martial arts to MMA.

You can start training in MMA at almost any age. There are only age limits and recomendations if you want to compete on a high level. In amateur competitions you shouldn’t have a problem if your coach thinks your ready.

Anywho, if you have no experience in any combat sport it will be a while before you will have the skills to fight. You will need to hook up with a good gym with a proven fight record.

-Fireplug