MMA or Boxing or What

Hi, I have a few questions and was looking for some advice. I am currently going through a dieting phase right now, I’ve currently lost 31lbs. Gone from weighing 246lbs down to 215lbs. I am definately wanting to lose even more weight, considering I am only 5’8, short and stalky.

With some of that out of the way, with the weight loss I am now filled with more energy and I no longer play any video games and there for have found alot more free time then what I have been use to. And have always wanted to join some kind of club or what not that deals with either some kind of form of Martial arts or boxing, something physical. I use to play Football and I use to wrestle back in Highschool. So I am use to contact sports. My only worries are with these specific types of contact sports, I am not to sure how I would handle getting punched in the face. Can’t say it’s happened to many times.

So, I am completely new to the idea and have no idea where to start or what to expect. I am pretty stout and not very long in the limbs. So not really to sure wich sport would compliment me better then the other or if at all. I would love to find a funner avenue to get into shape and stay that way. But also like the idea of competeting.

Do I just show up to one of the places? Do I join a class, have a personal trainer, start off hard and heavy or work my way up to certain levels,how much does this stuff normally cost? What things do I need to know? Any help on this would definately help out greatly. I am very interested and looking for people who are familiar to this kind of thing. Thank you very much for taking your time to read this.

What do you prefer more? Just show up for class and everything will fall into place

[quote]se7en wrote: