T Nation

MMA Amateur Title Fight

Here’s a video of my recent fight from about 3 weeks ago. It was for the Georgia Amateur Bantamweight State Title, nothing big but it’s cool to say that I fought for some sort of belt. Yes, those are shin pads, Georgia ammy rules are lame.

I train out of The HardCore Gym in Athens, GA (this gym has produced names like Forrest Griffin and Brian Bowles among a few). Yesterday marked 5 years since I started training with absolutely no background in any contact sports, and a former fat kid. Since I began training I obtained a degree in Exercise Physiology from UGA, and have dedicated myself to training and training others (strength and conditioning). Not sure when I’m going pro, but there’s no such thing as too much experience. Please give me your honest opinions, I know I have several holes in my game that need work.

Last but not least, about a week prior to this fight my Dad was diagnosed with dementia (no surprise to me, he’s been going downhill for a while). He always supported me even though he thought MMA is crazy. I would like to dedicate this fight to him.

I’d say your footwork looks pretty weak. Your feet come together a few times. Sometimes your back leg is directly behind your front leg. Sometimes when you’re moving backward you’re stepping with your front foot first bringing your feet together before moving your back leg. Your back leg should move first when moving back. Same with the front leg. I noticed you’d move your back leg up first and then step forward with your front leg to move forward.

That’s the way I was taught anyways. I don’t know if other gyms teach different ways but I don’t think so. I don’t really see pro MMA fighters moving differently in their fights.

Hard to tell about other stuff as the fight was so short and I don’t do grappling so can’t comment on that.