T Nation

Mixing Crossfit and Bodybuilding?

Ok- first off, I’m not here to promote or start arguements on CF or BB style workouts.
I have been training for about 12 years now. I have always done periodizaion training with the belief that this is the best way to put on muscle. I still beleive that. (always mxing up reps, sets, speed of reps and excercises of course).

Also, I always had good results banging out 20-30 minutes of cardio after the workouts. A typical gym session is about 60-80 minutes.
I tried CF about a year ago and although I love it I feel like I am losing muscle. I am going back to my old gym this week but I want to stick with CF as well.

Is there anyway i can do both? the hesitation I have is after a heavy chest day in the gym or any bodypart for that matter, doing a CF type workout that may consist of 100 pullups, 100 pushups, 100 sit up and 100 squats. I’m not to concerned about the cost of doing both so I dont need any replies on that aspect of it.
Although a few guys at my CF gym are very fit, they wont be turning heads on the beach.I just need some non biased advice.
please excuse typos.
Thanks

I own a crossfit gym, I do a modified program based on Joe DeFranco’s WS4SB plus a few other changes. It works well, I’m very lean and a good size, I would put on a good amount of additional size if I didn’t have weight classes I have to make. A lot of leaness depends on your diet, so you need to get that dialed in as well if you want to get the most out of it. I believe that CF stuff like ‘angie’ you described is great for fatloss along with fitness.