Missing Workout Due to Sickness

Is this an OK excuse to miss a day? This is my second day of having what I think is a cold, and the symptoms are an extremely sore throat and lack of energy. I managed to do cardio and lifting yesterday with it but it really wore me out, especially the cardio.

I’ve been lifting for about 2 1/2 months and have tried to stay dedicated, never missing a day. I’m not asking for permission but more advice - this won’t set me back will it?

Well depends.

On the sickness etc. I usually find that if I have a cold or what not or even slight flu Ifeel better after a workout. Sweating it out etc. But yes sometims you are better to stay out and heal first and go in when yopu are able to get a good w/o.

In your case I question if it is not the training that is making you feel the way you do. You say " never miss a day" are you taking any days off. How much training are you doing cardio and weights.

I am of the school of thought that over training is not as wide spread as all the recent hoop la has been spreading. It today seems to have become an excuse to Not work hard it is so over blown, though it is real. You may have simply surpassed your current work capacity by FAR. By starting out way to strong. It will work at fiorst but will quickly wear on you if you try to stay at the same pace. You need to build up your levels. Its a long haul. also check diet rest etc.

In short yes its OK to miss a day if you are sick but I alos thinnk it is bet tio find out WHY you are sick in the first place. With the right diet, training etc. you should rarely ene get a simple cold IMO. I cannto remember the last time I even had a stuffed nose at this point sure some time last years but nothing the sticks.

Hope that helps,
Phill

Thanks for your reply.

I should have clarified, what I meant about never missing a day was just the few days I lift weights. Its a 3 day split, Fri Sat Sun. I’ve been doing cardio about 5 times a week.