Missing a PR at Powerlifting Meet When You Did It at Gym

Hello, I’ve been lifting weights in bodybuilding for over 10 years and I’ve recently just gotten into powerlifting. I’ve got 3 powerlifting meets under my belt so far so yeah, I guess you can say that I’m a beginner at powerlifting. At my last powerlifting meet which was at Albany Strength in Albany, N.Y., I attempted a 300 lb. deadlift as my third attempt but it was a missed lift. I swore I got that number weeks before at a gym. I was pretty sure that I would be able to smash that number on meet but I missed it.

I was trying to figure out why that happened. Did I stop deadlifting heavy too early before a meet? I stopped the heavy deadlifting 3 weeks out. 2nd week out I lifted everything light, 1 week out I took a 5 day break from the gym. For that, I think I may have lost a little bit of deadlifting strength but I’ll get it back, though.

For my past three powerlifting meets that I had, I’m usually good at getting three white lights on most everything. I’ve mostly missed like two or three lifts. I know you can’t win them all so you just got to move on and forget it, just be proud of the effort. For powerlifting, I usually go for numbers that I can do 'cause I don’t want to bomb, ya know?

I’m sure this happens to everybody where they’re hoping to hit a pr that they’re planning to smash at a meet but it ends up being a missed lift when they know they got that number before. It happens.

For you experienced powerlifters here, any advice on what to do is greatly appreciated. Maybe I’m not peaking correctly is probably what it is. I’m learning.

Oh and if you’re wondering what my best lifts are at my third meet:
Squat: 150 lbs. Bench: 155 lbs. Deadlift: 290 lbs. at a weight class at 148 lbs.

Why are you setting PRs in the gym? Save those for competitions. This is your primary issue.

Maxing frequently will burn you out something fierce. PRs should be saved for the platform, where they count.

5 Likes