T Nation

Minor to Moderate Knee Pain? Read This

I feel in debt to the posters of T Nation, for the great information and contributions you provide me. I believe it’s absolutely necessary that when I feel I’ve found a successful method in any application, I need to share.

Disclaimer:

1. I’m not a Dr, just a highly researched iron junkie.
  2. This worked for me, may not work for you.
  3. Obviously this is not for those with major structural issues.

Background: I’ve been lifting for about 10 years pretty consistently, but with many general (positive) life interruptions (marriage, 2 children, job, etc) and minor injuries. I’ve amassed some decent lifts, 455lb squat, 550lb deadlift, 300lb bench at around 200lbs. Not bad for a weekend warrior.

I’ve battled right knee pain for 8 months. It was a slow onset. Any knee bending work heavily irritated it. A click became audible in the same range of motion every time I bent my knee to around the half squat position. Dull aching pain in the right knee occurred during and most noticeably after my workouts.

I started with taking about 2 weeks off lower work. It got 75% better, but came back with a vengeance once I resumed lower work. I went to see a ortho, with an X-ray. He stated overuse, Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome…the mystery diagnosis. Take some time off (already did this) and pop some anti inflams. I knew this was not the answer.

I thought I had a meniscus issue.

I then tried to work through the pain for about 6 weeks, really working on posterior chain exercises to strengthen my glutes and hams. No help.

I then went to get second opinion at ortho. Same diagnosis. Take it easy, and STOP SQUATTING. Yeah right, that’s not happening.

Just to clear my mind, I requested an MRI. Came back squeaky clean, minus an enlarged fat pad from years of squatting and deadlifting.

I continued to work through the pain for a few more months, trying all kinds of corrective exercises, modalities, etc.