Minimizing Alcohol Damage?

As a college student, I typically find myself going out to drink 2-3 times per week Thursday-Saturday night. While I know this is really detrimental to my physique goals, I like doing it and don’t want to give it up to get faster gains. I see a lot of reasonably big guys that keep lifting and drinking throughout college, and although they’d certainly be bigger or more ripped if they didn’t drink, they still look good. I hope I can be one of those guys in 4 years (I’m a freshman).

My question is, given that I’m going to drink, how can I reduce the damage done by my alcoholic binges? I consume anywhere from 8-18 drinks on a given night (hard alcohol and light beer), so the calories get high quickly. Are there any supplement regimens you guys follow before a night of partying (or during, or after)? Also, I usually consume some pure protein right before going to bed (FF cottage cheese, chicken, etc) - is this a good idea? Is there anything you guys do nutritionwise before/during/after drinking to help fight off catabolism?

edit: on my worst nights I drink 8-18, not every night. I do have the ability to have 5 and just chill.
Thanks for the help.

Well, lets see here. You go out 3 nights a week and drink 8 to 18 drinks a night? First of all, you are an alcoholic and should probably take care of that before worrying about anything else. I can see having a few or 4, but 8 to 18?! Dude, 8 beers is like a heavy drinking night for me, and I drink too much.

I’m not telling you how to live your life, but damn dude, you can still have fun and not be like out of your mind shitfaced retarded stupid drunk. Best of all when you drink light the ugly girls don’t get magically pretty and you don’t wake up next to Shebba the hairy man bitch the next morning and want to cut your dick off. Trust me, you keep this up and you will go NOWHERE in the gym, by the time you recover from the last binge you are at it again.