Milk Post-Workout

Hi. I’ve been working out for about 9 months right now and had drunk one liter of milk as long as I’ve workout out as a post-training meal. I’ve made great gains doing this both in strength and in bodyweight (You can read my story here: Westside for Skinny Lakkhamu - Training Logs - Forums - T Nation), but I’m a bit skeptical. Milk is 20% whey and 80% casein, and most trainers swear by fast-digesting protein post-workout and a minority favors slow-digesting ones, such as beef. I’ve recently convinced my mom to allow me take whey protein, but what do you think would be better? Would whey accelerate my gains or the motto “If it ain’t broken, don’t fix it” should apply?

[quote]Lakkhamu wrote:
Hi. I’ve been working out for about 9 months right now and had drunk one liter of milk as long as I’ve workout out as a post-training meal. I’ve made great gains doing this both in strength and in bodyweight (You can read my story here: Westside for Skinny Lakkhamu - Training Logs - Forums - T Nation), but I’m a bit skeptical. Milk is 20% whey and 80% casein, and most trainers swear by fast-digesting protein post-workout and a minority favors slow-digesting ones, such as beef. I’ve recently convinced my mom to allow me take whey protein, but what do you think would be better? Would whey accelerate my gains or the motto “If it ain’t broken, don’t fix it” should apply?[/quote]

Try not to think like that, what matters is long term gains. Have faith in what you do and get big/strong from it. Make the most of what you have.

I got most of my gains from milk and cream LOL (didn’t listen to the “spike your insulin peri workout” stuff, or the “eat blah blah blah protein at such and such a time”).

I agree. I think what’s really most important is your total macros/calories throughout the day. As long as you hit your targets, you’re golden.

IMO, nutrient timing is not all it’s cracked up to be.

Bump the milk to chocolate milk ;] lol the good stuff.