Military Drug Test Question

OK so I am not sure if this is the right place to ask or not. My roommate is trying to get me to take testosterone injections to help build muscle. I am not even sure if just testosterone is even considered a steroid. Now my issue is that I am in the National Guard, and get randomly drug tested from time to time.

Will taking testosterone injections show up on an US Army drug test? I am sorry if this has been ask before.

No it won’t show up on a drug test. They would have to do a test/epi test which is expensive. I can’t tell you if they test for gear or not but if its a standard piss test their looking for narcotics and testosterone will not show up.

Sorry I am kinda new to this… What is gear?

Term for steroids

I smell a troll but I’m gonna go ahead.

OIF Vet here, 6 years active duty. Unless you display overly agressive behavior (beating the shit out of people, MP’s picking you up, belligerence, insubordination, etc.) the Army will not test you specifically. Now if you give them a reason (problems with chain of command, always in trouble, etc.) and they have noticed that you jumped up in weight rapidly and you’re an overnight dud to stud then they may pull a blood panel.

There were specific guys in my unit that juiced heavily and frequently. To be honest I don’t think they even followed a true cycle. None of them were ever “busted”. A couple of them had their gear confiscated during health and welfare inspections but no legal action was taken. I don’t think they even got a counseling statement.

Now mind you, these were also good dudes. They were top soldiers, smart and personable. They new their jobs in and out and were well like by everyone, not just the chain of command. Most everyone would make comments, “nice muscles there juicehead” type comments but like I said, their personal choices were never questioned or made an issue. It really depends on your position politically.