T Nation

Military/Diet Question

Hey, I’m a 19 year old soldier in the National Guard from MA. I’ve been following a 5/3/1 bodybuilding split somewhat tweaked to train the events of the Army Physical Fitness Test: the push up, sit up and 2 mile run. My stats are:

5’9 173
Bench 175 1x10
Front Squat 175 1x7
Deadlift 320 1x3
Press 110 1x6 (cleaned from the floor w/ hurt wrist)
Push ups 78
Sit ups 77
2 Mile Run: 13:58

My goals are:
1.5x BW Bench, Front Squat
2x BW Deadlift
1x BW Press
Max APFT (71+ push ups, 78+ sit ups, 13:00 2 mile run)

My training philosophy is that I wont focus on physique goals until I’ve met my performance goals. I think that once I meet my performance goals, my goal will be to be bulk up to 180-190 lbs at 10 to 12% bodyfat. While I’ve made great progress on my goals since I started the 5/3/1 in November and have accomplished my pushup goal, I’ve still got a lot of progress to make on my strength and endurance.

I didn’t pay much attention to my diet during my first two cycles, but I started taking creatine and eating more protein, and have gained around 9 pounds. I dont measure my bodyfat percentage, but I havent gained a noticeable amount of fat and my push ups and sit ups increased pretty significantly so I’m assuming not too much of the weight gain was fat. However, the Army standard for weight at my height is 174 lbs, so I’m already pushing it.

In the Army if you’re overweight you get taped for bodyfat, which is notoriously inaccurate, and even though I’m pretty sure I’m below the mandated 20% and I don’t want to be associated with the fatbodies who are getting taped for being overweight. Soldiers who get taped in my unit have to spend the drill in their PT uniform and stick out like a sore thumb, and are generally looked down on. So I’ve got two questions: