Military and Powerlifting

I am currently a college student who loves powerlifting (as obvious from my avatar.) I have been considering joining the military for years. I am considering joining some type of ROTC next semester to pay for school. My question is directed to any powerlifters/lifters in the military or even people who know military lifters.

How does being in the military affect powerlifting? Obviously it will be off my mind during basic, but after I get settled in, is it possible to resume?

We have a lot of lifters who are Air Force students competing in CO - they have a great team.

Of course, I’m sure someone will say that Air Force isn’t really military…

[quote]pushmepullme wrote:
We have a lot of lifters who are Air Force students competing in CO - they have a great team.

Of course, I’m sure someone will say that Air Force isn’t really military…[/quote]

Yeah I have seen a few AF teams, also. I think physically I could handle it, but I am more concerned with time issues, as I will be entering an officer.

An old friend of mine was a PL in the USMC. His Mos was to train dogs. It was one of those situations where he competed for the USMC, so they accommodated him. The same went for another classmate who used to box for the USMC. He was a mortar maggot, but would be pulled out of the field to train.

I wasn’t competitive in the army, so I had to stay in the field.

I’m in the Army, I personally haven’t seen any power lifting teams. However the Army is succesfull when it comes to powerlifting.

Check out this link http://army.scout.com/2/699733.html

There are also competitions like this link at Spangahlem AFB in Germany.
www.spangdahlem.af.mil/news/story.asp?id=123079864