T Nation

Mike's Training Log

I’m sure most (if not all) of you know me a bit by now. My name’s Mike, I’m a 17 year old junior in high school. I got into weightlifting at the end of spring last year, and since then have really tried to learn all I can.

I was at one time the typical ‘fat-kid’ at 5’3" and 175lbs when I was 14. I dieted down, the stupid way, to 130lbs at 5’9" when I was 16. I was happy to finally not be the ‘fat kid’. But, my mind changed. No one called me skinny, but I saw it, and I was. I wanted to get bigger. So, I started lifting. At first, my only goal was aesthetics. I wanted to change the way I looked. Through OVT, Anti-Bodybuilding Hypertrophy, and Training for Maximal Size, I got a little bit of meat on me.

But I wasn’t STRONG. It sucks to be skinny, but in my opinion, it sucks a lot worse to be WEAK. So, by now, I’ve changed my mindset on training. Sure, I want to look good nekkid, but I also want to lift big weights. If I ate right, and lifted heavy, could I not gain strength and look decent?

Thus transpired my epiphany.

My journey into Westside begins here.

Thursday, October 30th, 2003

ME Bench

Rack Press (top portion - 8"):
45 x 5
95 x 5
95 x 5
135 x 5
155 x 3
175 x 1
195 x 1
205 x MISS <-- dropped the weight afterwards, as you can see
200 x 1
205 x 1
210 x MISS

Incline Close-Grip Bench:
45 x 8 (warmup)
95 x 5 (didn’t know how much weight I could use)
115 x 4
115 x 4
115 x 4

DB Cleans: <— I don’t really know how much I should sway my body
20 x 12
25 x 12
25 x 9

Barbell Rows:
100 x 8
110 x 7
110 x 5
110 x 5

Chinups: <— I should probably do these before rows…

Barbell Curls:
60 x 6
60 x 5
60 x 4