Mike Dolce

I did a forum search to see if this had been discussed. Nothing came up, which is kind of surprising. Maybe I’ve just been hit in the head too many times and don’t know how to use computers anymore.

Long post, can all be summed up with: If you’ve read Dolce’s stuff, what do you think?

Anyway, what do you folks (especially the fighters) think of him, and his diet/nutrition philosophy.

Since I started training seriously in a sports with weight classes I’ve subscribed to a modified paleo diet, i.e. paleo + rice, cottage cheese, Greek Yogurt and supplements for the most part… and not much evil fructose containing fruit. Also intermittent fasting became a big thing.

I’ve gotten good at managing my weight with this type of eating. I’ve got my cut “down”. However, as I try to push my career to the next level, I find that I don’t really have the energy to train as hard/much as I’d like. Since I’ve basically used carbs to control my weight, most of the time except right before an actual fight, I’m operating in a fairly depleted state, again as an effort to control weight mostly via carb control.

Well, Dolce has a good track record with high-level fighters, so I decided to check him out when I finally hit the point where I had to admit to myself that my nutrition was off, and I clearly don’t know as much as I thought I did. Or if I do, I’m not applying it correctly for my body.

I’m not going to give an in-depth overview of his philosophy, or specific meals/diets/cut-plans, but carbs, and especially fruit are big. Protein is relatively low. Fat is moderate. Everything should come from whole-food sources, and there are lots of meals/snacks, with an expectation that if you’re eating this way, the body with self-regulate hunger pretty effectively.