Middle School Football & The Weight Room

My son has been playing football for many years now. He is now 13 and in his last year of playing before high school. Part of summer practice and regular season practice is weight training. This brings me to my question. For a boy that is just starting puberty and still growing, what are the do’s and don’ts for him in the weight room.

I know what works for me and what this 33 year old body can take. But when it comes to first introductions to weight training at that age I am clueless. I would assume just the power moves with light weight to teach form, timing, balance, etc. I want to make sure that my son is not part of the group of idiots in a weight room screwing off with no clue of what they are doing and gets hurt. Please shed some light…

13 is actually old enough to properly work out. As an absolute beginner I’d have him max out all the major lifts and train with 50% for moderate high reps ( 10-12).

Regarding safety:
-DO warm up extensively, so have him run a few laps or work with the prowler prior to hitting the iron.
-DON’T believe in the myth that weight training stunts growth- it doesn’t!!!
-DO check his regimen, since my high school coach had us doing mainly a bench/curl/push press/db press/dips routine with 2 sets of pulldowns and t-bar rows thrown in for good measure.
What I mean is, make sure that his routine has more pulling than pushing movements and really builds up his posterior chain.

Apart from that, all “adult” rules apply to him in the weight room and he’s good to go!

[quote]Dre the Hatchet wrote:
13 is actually old enough to properly work out. As an absolute beginner I’d have him max out all the major lifts and train with 50% for moderate high reps ( 10-12).

Regarding safety:
-DO warm up extensively, so have him run a few laps or work with the prowler prior to hitting the iron.