Mid 40s, Hard Work = No Gains, Losing Motivation

This is my 1st post on the forums here and hope to get some advice on what I’m doing wrong and/or what’s missing from my routine. Just a little background, three years ago I was 43, 6’4, & 272lbs, I felt miserable until I started riding a bike which led to me riding two-three times a week with some rides up to 100 miles and I lost nearly 50lbs. I felt pretty good about myself but wanted more so I bought some weights and started working out which I’ve stuck to for the last year and a half with little to show for it. I’ve gotten quite a bit stronger but my physique is pretty much the same and I’d say my mid section has grown a bit over the last year probably due to less miles on the bike and more time in the gym. My typical workout has me benching 250-275 3x8, squats same, deadlifts same, plus a mix of isolation exercises concentrating on biceps/shoulders Monday, legs/calves Wednesday, and triceps/back on Friday with a day between for rest and a hard 30-40mi bike ride on Sunday to get some cardio in.

I’ve had my testosterone checked in March and it was 474(ng/dL) with a free level of 80.9(pg/mL) so while I’m not at an optimal level, I don’t seem to be deficient or in need of replacement therapy at this point, but maybe so? I’m open to any path that would lead me to what I’m after which is more muscle mass and a flatter mid-section.

I really want to continue working out and want some size but am I too old? Do I need testosterone therapy? Am I not lifting not enough? Right now I’m about to throw in the towel and I’ve taken a few days off because I feel like I’m over doing it.

474 isnt bad for a 45 year old but it isnt optimal by any means. You need to head over to the TRT forum and see how much you have in common with other guys.

And no…you are not too old to see changes if you get your hormone levels optimized.