T Nation

Metabolism Shift, Trouble Gaining Mass

Hello T-Nation, I'm 16 and I've been lifting for a year. More seriously for around 6 months.
I know I've been making some great progress, and that beginning to lift weights has really changed my life; however, I feel I'm not making the gains that I truly could be.

I used to be the kid that couldn't eat any junk food or else I would gain 5 pounds instantly, and when I started lifting I had already been working on nutrition for a while. I feel I've been able to turn almost all of my fat into muscle. However somewhere down the line my metabolism must have changed because now I'm finding it very hard to gain any mass at all.

At 135 lb.s (5'7") this is very frustrating. I was able to gain mass very quickly when I had the fuel to do so, but now I'm not nearly gaining as much ground as I used to. When I realized this was happening I began to eat protein until it started coming out my ears (about 1.25g per pound), but I'm still having trouble gaining mass.

My question is, How can I effectively gain muscle mass without putting all of my fat back on, or having my metabolism shift back.

Sound like you need to start adding a lot more carbs and fats to your diet (post your nutritiion program and we can advise better). If your trying to add mass you may increase your body fat % a little bit, but so what. You can always burn off the extra fat while maintaining muscle mass on a fat burning cycle. You probably have this already but here a list of foods you should be consuming (if your training right, at 16, your not going to put all the fat back on):

Whole Wheat Bread
Sweet Potato
Low Sugar Oatmeal
Malto Meal
Brown Rice
Real Yogurt
Rice
Whole Wheat Pasta
Whole Grain Bread
Strawberries
Melon
Apples
Oranges
Bananas
Mixed Nuts
Almonds
Natural Peanut Butter
Almond Butter
Cashews

Forgot to say … every meal Protein, Carbs, Fat

Thank you for the reply. Here is my typical meal plan:

Morning
Multivitamin
Fish oil pills
L-Glutamine