T Nation

Messing w/ Rippetoe's Starting Strength

The Starting Strength workout uses a small amount of compound exercises in the plan.
But surely if you use these same exercises week after week and month after month the body will adapt and the gains will start to trail off.

So, would it better to do Incline or Decline BP instead of just normal BP sometimes? Or Front Squats instead of just Back Squats?

If you’re a total beginner, it’s alright, those 3 exercices are enough, remember you’re doing 3x5, that means a lot of weight…

The program was designed a specific way for specific reasons. Stick to it, you’ll surprise yourself on how much you can gain with it.

Better to just avoid minimalistic programs like this at all in my opinion.

Do not mess with that which you don’t understand. Do the program as written. As you progress you will add variation to it. Pick up Practical Programming to go with SS. It shows you how your training will evolve as you go from beginner to intermediate.

[quote]mr popular wrote:
Better to just avoid minimalistic programs like this at all in my opinion.[/quote]

I agree actually. But there’s a time and place for them, and if someone is seeing gains, then until those stall they might as well apply themselves to finishing what they start.

To the OP–do the program as written. You can start to do incline or decline benchs or front squats after a couple months on the program. While it is true that if you do the same lifts for months and months on end you’ll start to plateau, this is MUCH more of a concern for someone who’s been consistently training very hard 2 or more years.

Less than that and it’s not a huge concern because you haven’t developed enough ability to recruit your CNS to burnout yet. However, it can still be useful, and FUN, to change things up. So go ahead and change them up, within reason, after a few months. Stick to them for now though.