Mercury Contamination in Tuna

OK, so we’ve all heard of it
And we all love tuna.
The esteemed Dr Lowry just said “mercury contamination risk isnt all that high”…
(since theres almost certainly some contamination in all tuna, people giving their opinions like this might want to define what they see as ‘contamination’)

For those of us at a stage of nutrition where we try and use glass and ceramic bowls over plastics, and avoid microwaved foods, something like mercury ‘contamination’ is a bit of a bugger. Especially if we eat enough tuna for a cumulative effect to become a ‘risk’ (again, each should define their own level in this regard…)

So what have you all heard? what evidence have you seen? How does it affect how much tuna you buy? etc etc…?

just curious, of course, but im hoping some of you guys have more informed opinions on this than i do, so i might be able to form my own…

I’m by no means an expert, but from what I understand, if you’re worried about mercury you’re better off to go with the WHITE tuna, as opposed to LIGHT tuna. Apparently the Albacore(white) feeds on different foods and is found farther offshore and is much less likely to be contaminated with the dreaded Hg. It tastes better too! Hope this helps!

I heard that the “chunk light” tuna has 1/3 less mercury because it come from smaller fish.

[quote]Bater wrote:
I’m by no means an expert, but from what I understand, if you’re worried about mercury you’re better off to go with the WHITE tuna, as opposed to LIGHT tuna. Apparently the Albacore(white) feeds on different foods and is found farther offshore and is much less likely to be contaminated with the dreaded Hg. It tastes better too! Hope this helps![/quote]

It’s the other way around. ALbacore = high Hg, light = low Hg. Relatively speaking, of course.