T Nation

Meeting HS Football Requirements

I have a coworker whose son is a 15-year-old high school student. He is your basic ectomorph, but his coach told him he can play on varsity if he hits the following requirements in the weight room:

10 rep deadlift of 275
10 rep powerclean of 175
10 rep incline bench of 175
10 rep normal bench of 175

He has one month to hit these targets. I used to be a personal trainer, so this guy's mother asked me for advice. I feel like punching someone, because making 10-rep performance the standard for making the varsity squad makes no sense to me. However, complaining isn't going to help anybody. Right now, this guy's P.R.s are:

8 reps deadlifting at 275
3 reps powercleans with 170
1 rep incline bench of 180
6 reps regular bench with 175

Any of you football guys got any advice? It sounds like he needs strength endurance, but I feel hesitant to recommend it, since I don't feel like it'd actually help him on the football field.

Can the kid can play jv football and get into the football/lifting class if available? A 15 year old who has never lifted will see some rapid gains but I doubt he will meet the varsity standards in a month. The coaches are probably trying to keep the smaller players from getting hurt. Tell him to start eating, sleeping and lifting and next year the coach will be recruiting him for the varsity.

I would say he is SOL except on deads and possibly flat bench. As far as training I would just worry about him getting stronger... if he ups his one rep max significantly his 10RM should go up decently as well. From his numbers he should be able to reach those goals, just not withen 1 month.

Bullshit, he can make that. Just have him bulk up for the next 4 weeks and lift hard. Work a lot on the incline and power clean, those obviously need the most work.

You guys don't think putting on 10 pounds in the next 4 weeks will get his lifts where they need to be?