Mechanical Properties of Steel in a Barbell

I’m a student and doing an A level presentation on the use of steel in powerlifting vs. Olympic lifting bars.
I need to find information and sources on the type of steel used in bars of each type, their mechanical properties and consequently, why each type is suitable for their use in powerlifting or Olympic lifting bars.

I’ve found some decent stuff, but some articles which are pure gold I need to buy, such as this one:

I’ve also emailed Eleiko, Ivanko and York, but I’ve got no response so far from the first two, and York told me that it was confidential company information, which is understandable. But surely there must be some general differences in the steel between the two types of bar?

Wondering if anyone with material physics experience or indeed anyone with any potentially useful knowledge could help me out?

Thanks in advance.

[quote]Dave-P wrote:
I’m a student and doing an A level presentation on the use of steel in powerlifting vs. Olympic lifting bars.
I need to find information and sources on the type of steel used in bars of each type, their mechanical properties and consequently, why each type is suitable for their use in powerlifting or Olympic lifting bars.

I’ve found some decent stuff, but some articles which are pure gold I need to buy, such as this one:

I’ve also emailed Eleiko, Ivanko and York, but I’ve got no response so far from the first two, and York told me that it was confidential company information, which is understandable. But surely there must be some general differences in the steel between the two types of bar?

Wondering if anyone with material physics experience or indeed anyone with any potentially useful knowledge could help me out?

Thanks in advance.[/quote]

Could try a wholesaler, or someone on the sales side of things. Going right to the manufacturer will probably just net you the responses you’ve already got.

The mechanical properties can be easily calculated.