MCAT Prep?

To be blunt, I have the Medical College Admissions Test coming up soon. I don’t know how many T-members we have that are in the medical profession but I’d imagine that there are quite a few (Professor X for example if my memory serves me). My question is: “What did you do to prepare yourself for this monster exam of 5.5 hours i.e. what helped the most???” Posting of score is of course optional but I’d just like to see what the general populous is.

Nutrition. Studying strategies. Nootropic combo’s (major props to the "brain func. thread and Bushy). Psyching up rituals. All is fair game. Thanks in advance for contributing if you do. :slight_smile:

I am really interested in this as well. I’m only a sophomore but I figure the sooner I know this stuff the better.

I spent about 2 months studying up on the background knowledge needed for the test. During this time, I took a few practice tests to gauge where I was at. After each test, I went back over my mistakes. I then made a note of what concepts I was weak at and studied them some more. Then, about 3-4 weeks out, I took as many full-lengths as I could, all the while going over the conceptual stuff on my off-test days.

The best practice for the test is to take full-length practice tests as often as possible. Take them all in one sitting, around the time of the real exam. This will get your body in tune as far as hunger during the test goes, and also importantly (and often overlooked), your shitting schedule. Seriously. One kid in my testing room left for 10 minutes during the bio/ochem section to take a shit. You can’t be having that.

I paid for the Kaplan online syllabus because it is the best resource I know of for full-length and section tests. It’s pricey, but it’s the best prep out there, imo. The course isn’t worth it, I did that too.