Maxing Out On Bench

i really have never known the correct answer to this question. i get so many different answers from different people on this topic. when should you max out? should you max out just after ur warmup? should you max out after you do some 60% loads?

Are you a powerlifter?

[quote]neptune wrote:
i really have never known the correct answer to this question. i get so many different answers from different people on this topic. when should you max out? should you max out just after ur warmup? should you max out after you do some 60% loads?

[/quote]

Can’t really speak for anyone else but I always tend to pyramid up towards my max(rarely do 1rm) its always worked for me.

[quote]harris447 wrote:
Are you a powerlifter?[/quote]

im fairly new to lifting. ive been working out for a year and im bulking right now

Here’s what I did my last ME day for bench.

45lbx10
95lbx10
135lbx10
185lbx5
205lbx5
225lbx5
235lbx3
245lbx3
255lbx1
260lbx1
265lbx1
270lbxmiss

[quote]Hatebreeder wrote:
Here’s what I did my last ME day for bench.

45lbx10
95lbx10
135lbx10
185lbx5
205lbx5
225lbx5
235lbx3
245lbx3
255lbx1
260lbx1
265lbx1
270lbxmiss[/quote]

Not to hijack the thread, but this is too much load beofre a 1rm type lift. Have you ever gotten 270 before? 265? If you’ve gotten 265 no reason to do it again. And obviously skip 260.

I would advise
135x10–if you can do 260-270 no reason to warm up with less.
185x6-8
225x5-6
245x2-3
max

Of course, do a brief warm-up and mayve some light shoulder presses or something. Don’t waste so much of your time and energy on max day. Why do all of that volume when you are trying to see how strong you are.

original.

Use a similar formula, but adjust for your weight. It works ok for me. I probably only go to ones 3-4 times a year though. I do not train competitively.

You really need to warm-up alot if you have big lifts.

bar x 5
95 x 5
115x 5
135x 3
155x 3
175x 3
195x 1
215x 1
225x 1