Maximal Urea Sythethis Rate

I just finished an exhaustive article on hunter-gatherer diets, and I ran across something pretty interesting. It seems that Amerindians and early American settlers were familiar with a disease they called “rabbit starvation.” The researchers who wrote this article figured that the symptoms of this wasting disease were indicative of excess protein consumption (rabbits are only about 2% fat), and used their data and that of others to create a formula (range: 55–76 mg N•h-1•kg body wt-0.75) that predicts the maximal amount of protein a person can ingest before problems (hyperammonemia and hyperaminoacidemia) occur. Since the formula allows for deviation, an 80kg person would be OK consuming protein in the range of between 212 and 292 grams per day, with the average being 250g/d. I’ve been consuming about 370g/d at 180lbs for about 3 months and haven’t noticed any problems. Many feel that protein consumption in excess of 1.3g/lb of body weight is a waste of money, and now I’m leaning toward this camp of thought. Cutting down protein and upping good fat will certainly make my grocery bill easier to bear. Check out the full article at: www.ajcn.org/cgi/content/full/71/3/682.

Interesting article but I can’t agree
with all of your conclusions.

It’s sort of like finding an article where
someone claimed that, for example, performing
more than 8 sets per week led to overtraining and illness.

They may have published it. They may have believed it heart and soul. But looking around you, you can see they were in error.

Or for a more notorious example, someone may have published that anabolic steroids do not improve muscle mass or athletic performance.

Or that Nubain is non-addicting or has very low addictive potential. Sure, the scientists who wrote that, based on animal studies, no doubt believe it.