T Nation

Max Effort Days. How to Implement them into Training

I'm a young powerlifter, but I'll just cut straight to the point!a I'm following Jonnie Canditos Linear progression. I do know that it doesn't use max effort days. However I'm curious on why a lot of power lifters use max effort days?? Is it just a small test of strength? And is it worth adjusting the program to incorporate max effort days in?

I'm new to the sport, and I appreciate a gentle shove in the right direction, haha! Thanks

You should read the .pdf that he provides right before the program as well as the first part of the excel sheet. On the 6th page of the sheet it explains you have three options for the 6th week. Deload, skip a deload and restart (using projected training maxes based on your sets from week 5. Or in most cases take that week to max and find your 1 rep maxes. I highly recommend not swaying from the program much, if at all especially being new (don't just put in random 1rm days in the middle of the program). Hope this helps!

I think You might be talking about a different program??

But nonetheles, why don't you think adding things into a program is a good idea??
My reasoning is that programs like the linear progression program, 5x5 or something along those lines are "cookie cutter" programs. I'm not an expert or anything like that, I could be completely and utterly wrong. But as long as you still follow the basic protocol/foundation you should still improve, right??
Like, if you go all out for 3-4 weeks, then on the 5th week, you do a max effort day. In the middle of the week, you don't go quite as hard as a competition, but going somewhere like 90-95%. Just pushing it enough for neuromuscular strength and confidence. Maybe theres some mental benefit to it?? Im not an ego lifter, if anything I'm not as aggressive or as confident as I could be.

And yeah, it does help! I like thinking about this sort of thing, I have an open mind, so maybe I'll learn something,