T Nation

Mastering Excel

Hey all,

Any finance people in here who are extremely proficient in excel? Did you use any particular training course /program or just develop it over many years? I will be working as a financial analyst soon and am definitely a little soft in the excel department (especially for a finance dude).

I know the basics, but am just trying to learn the intermediate-high end stuff to really up my value in the future.

Any recommendations would be mighty helpful!

Thanks

x2. I'm going into finance as well and am curious about this. The most I can do is create a 5/3/1 template.

Training the Street!

I'm a second year student at Harvard Business and they out source excel training to these guys. I've been to several of their modeling classes and they're really great for everything from basic DCF to LBO deals.

Couple questions:

1. Are you aware of this function list?:
    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/excel-help/excel-functions-by-category-HP005204211.aspx

2. Are you looking to replicate investment banking hedging trading programs, or are you looking to do financial analysis the old school long term investment way?

For the old school stuff, I recommend two books:

Security Analysis by Graham and Dodd
http://www.amazon.com/Security-Analysis-Sidney-Cottle/dp/0070132356/ref=sr_1_24?ie=UTF8&qid=1327861397&sr=8-24

The Intelligent Investor by Graham, Zweig and Buffett (yes Warren)
http://www.amazon.com/Intelligent-Investor-Definitive-Investing-Practical/dp/0060555661/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1327861344&sr=8-1

Another for anyone interested in general theory and philosophy:

The Essays of Warren Buffett: Lessons for Corporate America, Second Edition
http://www.amazon.com/Essays-Warren-Buffett-Lessons-Corporate/dp/0966446127/ref=pd_vtp_b_4

If you are leaning more towards quantitative/computational finance, google the names on this list: