Mass Eating with Olive Oil and Nuts

Mixed nuts, great stuff.

inexpensive
calorie dense
portable (I work as a teacher and find it easy to snack on them in between classes)
hearty doses of fats and minerals
fiber, some protein, etc…

They usually comprise around 2200-2500 of my daily caloric intake (roughly half of my total calories consumed)

Before this, I used a calorie proportionate amount of olive oil in smoothies twice a day and seemed to have had better results with adding small amounts of weight.

Ever since I switched over to nuts (keeping everything else in diet and workouts constant, besides increasing loads), I’ve been losing some weight (not a good thing), as well as running out of toilet paper.

I’m sure most of this is due to the fiber content in nuts. It is known that a lot of the protein in legumes and nuts is locked up in fiber and may not be utilized. In terms of actual calories gained, this must be making a sizable impact.

I’m curious if there are any others out there that use nuts as a substantial portion of their diet (half or greater for calorie intake) and if so, have they ever substituted bulk oil for nuts or vise versa… found one better for gaining than the other?

[quote]jonesk wrote:
Mixed nuts, great stuff.

inexpensive
calorie dense
portable (I work as a teacher and find it easy to snack on them in between classes)
hearty doses of fats and minerals
fiber, some protein, etc…

They usually comprise around 2200-2500 of my daily caloric intake (roughly half of my total calories consumed)

Before this, I used a calorie proportionate amount of olive oil in smoothies twice a day and seemed to have had better results with adding small amounts of weight.

Ever since I switched over to nuts (keeping everything else in diet and workouts constant, besides increasing loads), I’ve been losing some weight (not a good thing), as well as running out of toilet paper.