Marathon Training and Lifting

Hey all,

I’ve been running the Marine Corp Marathon for the past three years and was going to make another go of it this year. However, I’ve been making some good gains lifting and don’t want to see all my hard work in the gym get pissed away.

If I decide to run I’d begin training 10 weeks out with three runs a week: 1 long run (start at 12 miles, and 1 mile each week), 1 speed session (800s at 3:00 pace. Start doing 6, work up to 12. 400 recovery jog in between), 1 medium cardio session (7-10 mile jog, 50 minute swim, etc.)

My question is how can I diet / supplement to minimize my losses in terms of muscle? Secondly, what kind of weight training (if at all) should I do while marathon training?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Glutamine is supposed to be able to reduce muscle loss from a lot of slow-twitch exercises.

However, I also read the article about how the glutamine is supposed to be useless. So I’m not sure. Just read up on Glutamine if you’re interested.

Hey buddy!

Do you know what your general race weight has been and where you’d like it to be now?

I have been using a stack of Alpha Male and Carbolin 19 throughout my peak training and have maintained a heavier race weight but cut my race body fat. If I had to pick one I would go with Carbolin 19 but I feel that Alpha Male would be just as important if you are planning to get to marathon distance in 10 weeks. You’re likely to be flirting with overtraining just about the day of race and the last thing you want for your muscle mass is to crash your hormones.

My results with Carbolin 19 and Alpha Male (also use Methoxy-7) have been so successful that I will be using it to bump my race weight up another 8 lbs with confidence that I can hold a higher power output until Ironman.