Manipulating Sets and Reps for Maximum Results

So I got a question that’s been bothering me for the last several days. For the past several months I’ve been mainly training for strength (3-5 minute rest btw sets, 1-3 reps). However, recently I started training for muscular hypertrophy (90 sec rest btw sets with 2-10 reps).

My reps would drop significantly, something like this 10, 7, 5, 3, 2 (same weight for all sets) since I just started implementing much shorter rests.

My concern is that since I’m aiming for growth, and with the combination of short rest periods and low reps, what’s the outcome/benefits?

Would you guys only strictly recommend 8-12 reps with short rests for growth and 1-3 reps with long rests to get strength, or mix the reps and sets altogether and possibly get the best of both worlds? Greatly appreciate your feedback.

I personally like to mix things up. I dont go heavy for more than a few weeks and I dont go light for more than a few weeks. And even then I vary my weight from one week to the next. If I get stuck at a given weight, Ill carry it over to the next week, but if I dont get it, Ill change up. As far as rest on the light days I still rest a good 2 - 3 minutes between sets. Im not a young guy worried bout every last bit of conditioning I can get. I figure lifting is good enough for me.

Check out the ideas at hypertrophy specific training - www.hypertrophy-specific.com and see what you think.

I’ve heard lots of guys say “low reps for strength and high reps for size” but I think it is a simplistic notion.

Theoretically combination methods work best. From an adaptational persepective muscle growth occurs as a result of mechnical damage, metabolic damage and possibly occlusion.

Thus heavy lifting should cause the mechanical / tensile damage. Manipulating rest periods and higher rep sets should elicit metabolic damage.