T Nation

Making Sure I'm on the Right Track

Sup guys.

Okay so I just joined the T-Nation (great site!) and been looking up lots of different things posted up here. I gotta admit that its a little mind boggling here and there, what with all this info being thrown at me.

Anyway, I just started lifting about a month ago and I just keep getting warnings that I should make sure I do it right to save myself time. Thats the advice I’m looking for now.

I’m extremely skinny for my height (6’5" and 140 pounds–no typos here) and have gained about 3-4 pounds since I started eating right and hitting the gym. I’m just looking for some advice on what different kinds of sets I should be doing, as well as tips on what to eat.

I heard that I should take in like 1.5g of protein per pound I weigh and I definitely am not doing that. Protein powder is apparently the solution, but currently I am income-less so its hard to afford stuff like that.

For working out, I more or less just finished getting the hang of the forms for the squat, dead lift and bench press, so I’m going to start lifting those next week. I’ve been told that I should be doing full body work outs as a newbie and doing 3 exercises each time I hit the gym. Two of those exercises would be bench press and DL/squat, but what is a good third one to complete the work out?

Sorry if all this is a bit much, I just really would like some advice from people who actually know what the heck they’re talking about as well as have no prob with dealing with a newb lol. Thanks in advance!

Diet:
The keys here are getting a lot of protein and gaining 3-5lbs of bodyweight each month. Protein powder isn’t an asbolute necessity but it makes things a hell of a lot easier. Eating a lot of protein is important. Get a job.

Training:
If you feel like you need to do really simple, limited workouts at first to get your technique down on basic bodybuilding exercises for a few months, that’s fine.