Making Flag Burning Illegal

Looks like House Republicans are pushing to make flag desecration illegal. Haven’t we already been through this?

link: http://aolsvc.news.aol.com/news/article.adp?id=20050622100909990028

Here’s an interesting quote from the esteemed Hillary Clinton: ‘I support federal legislation that would outlaw flag desecration, much like laws that currently prohibit the burning of crosses, but I don’t believe a constitutional amendment is the answer’

I suppose Ms. Clinton has not reviewed the Supreme Court decision that found that Virginia laws that prohibited cross burning, prima facia, were unconstitutional.

I’m sure BostonBarrister will pop in here and emend or amend as necessary (I’m not a lawyer, I just play one on internet forums).

I don’t agree with the act. However, the moment we start making actions we don’t agree with illegal simply because we don’t agree with them, the easier it will be to eventually make further restrictions on any action that whoever is in power doesn’t agree with.

I’ve thought for awhile that it would be such a good idea to have a new revolution. And then I realized that it wouldn’t do any good… 45 percent of “Americans” support a flag-burning ban.

Gentlemen, we have found the enemy, and they is us.

[quote]Professor X wrote:
I don’t agree with the act. However, the moment we start making actions we don’t agree with illegal simply because we don’t agree with them, the easier it will be to eventually make further restrictions on any action that whoever is in power doesn’t agree with. [/quote]

I agree with this in theory, but in this particular case I disagree.

I disagree with the flag-burning amendment, and would vote against it in a ratification because I’m against restrictions on free speech.