Maintaining Muscle With Broken Foot

Merry Xmas all…

Quick query I have - I have a broken foot and as a result cannot really train properly. (understatement lol.) How can I train and eat to maximise the amount of muscle I keep during this time off?! I won’t be able to weight bear the broken foot for at least a month and a half I would guess…

I can however use benches etc, I am an ectomorph who has a hard time putting on any muscle at all! If anyone could advice on set/rep schemes also it would be useful, as I have no experience of training when “not” training lol. Thanks…

Hey Millasur!

Happy Holidays first off. Well as Shugs mentioned in his article posted on physique clinic, the “x-factor” in muscle gaining, if any, would have to be intensity–going to the edge of death on each rep. You get the idea. With a broken foot I would recommend simply staying off any exercise which would for now stress the injury even more.

Incorporate presses-military, bench(close-grip, wide-grip, decline, incline, etc.) and go with leg curls and other exercises which don’t involve you putting weight on your foot. The point is to stimulate every muscle you can. If you can, try chin-ups and dips. Great exercises and even greater when you add weight. Anyways go to the edge with every one of these exercises.

But remember you broke your foot meaning you must have damaged the fascia along your foot. Chad mentioned in one his articles that damaged or tight fascia can cause your body to overcompensate. So be sure to also stretch and do rehab/mobility exercises for your foot every day.

Oh and as for the diet, eat big but smart. Can’t go wrong with the protein shakes, meals during the day, carbs(pasta, breads, grains) after your workout and healthy fats(fish oil is a must) too all throughout. I hope I could be of some help to you. Good luck with the training and again happy holidays!