T Nation

Maintaining After Smolov Jr?

Anyone have any input on maintaining strength gains after running Smolov Jr? I’ve been running Wendler 5-3-1 for the past 8 months or so, but wanted to (need to) increase my squat so I decided to try Smolov Jr. Been reading different things that say it’s more of a “peaking” program, and I was curious how someone who has actually ran the program and what they transitioned to after to maintain those gains.

I’m a competitive bodybuilder, but just recently got into powerlifting also so this style of training is relatively new to me. I’m 5’7", 175 lbs right now. Just did a Raw push/pull comp with a 325 bench and 600 deadlift. I have a full meet coming up in December. Obviously I’d like to improve all my lifts, but my squat and bench need the most work. I’m running Smolov Jr. based off a 450 squat with the intentions of switching back to Wendler for squats (based off my new max) and then running Smolov Jr. for bench.

I’ve cut out deadlifts while doing Smolov squats for the sake of my low back, but figured 3 weeks off wouldn’t kill me and then throw them back in when I switch to Smolov bench. Any advice from anyone who’s been in a similar situation?

Thats an awesome deadlift for your weight. I am surprised your squat is so far behind

I’ve ran the full Smolov cycle for squats with great results, but be prepared for a little let down. Smolov is a peaking program and I assume Smolov Jr. will be similar. I went through a period of lifting depression after I completed Smolov because I couldn’t keep all the gains and it seemed like my normal 5-3-1 program just wasn’t working. I was still much stronger than when I started, just not as strong as I was when I peaked. That’s just the nature of the beast.

Tim Henriques wrote this article a few weeks ago and I think he hit the nail on the head:

These two “cons” for HFT stand out to me: