T Nation

Main Workout, Then Jokers, Then FSL

Hi

I've been using 531 for last 18 months (531 and boring but big) and have recently bought the new beyond 531 book.

I'm wanting to do the following workout variation:

(1) Main 531 workout
(2) Joker sets
(3) First set last

Should I be adding accessory exercises to the end of this workout also? Or adding boring but big for example?

Just wasn't sure if the joker sets and first set last were to replace the additional accessory work?

I want to make sure im following the program as jim intended.

Thanks
B

i do jokers and FSL… then ill add whatever i think is needed in terms of extras…i would not add BBB. if im doing what i usually do,
531, then joker up to a decent single or triple, then 5x8 with FSL, thats plenty- BBB would be too much in my opinion and im a volume whore.

Other than what is shown in the Beyond book, NOOOOOOOOOOOO. Just do main work, Jokers and FSL. Only LB work is abs and back raises. All other UB work is done like page 34 shows.

Everyone I personally train gets stronger like this. Amazing how it doesn’t ever work for Internet crowd.

That’s perfect Jim, thanks for clarifying that!!!

Have a great Xmas!

I’m going to copy the superset exercise suggestions you give on page 34 for both my bench day and overhead press day.

I see on page 35 that you say it’s more difficult to superset accessory lifts for lower body workouts:

What exercise would you now recommend for including on a lower body day workout for these?:

1. Warmup
  2. Main workout
  3. Joker sets
  4. First set last sets

[quote]Bingobob wrote:
I’m going to copy the superset exercise suggestions you give on page 34 for both my bench day and overhead press day.

I see on page 35 that you say it’s more difficult to superset accessory lifts for lower body workouts:

What exercise would you now recommend for including on a lower body day workout for these?:

1. Warmup
  2. Main workout
  3. Joker sets
  4. First set last sets[/quote]